12 Things I learned from 1 year of Blogging | 1 Year Blogiversary | Day 2

Ad heading (2).png

I’ve been blogging now for a year and looking back, I’ve realised how much I’ve actually learnt – 1 years ago I didn’t know a single thing, I definitely wouldn’t have been able to tell you how to write a blog post never mind anything to do with coding. There’s hundreds of things that I’ve learnt since starting my blog, but if I wrote about all of them we’d be here forever, so I’ve managed to round it down to twelve things and I thought it’d be nice to share them with you.

Now, this year has been incredible.  I had no idea how much you could learn and how much you could gain personally by blogging.  So, these are 12 things I’ve learned from Blogging these past 12 Months.

Lesson #1: Posting Daily Isn’t Necessary.

In my early blogging days I published posts daily. I was under the impression that the more often I posted, the more page views I would get. And while that may be true, it really didn’t make much of an impact on my blog’s growth.

When I blogged daily, the posts were shorter and of a lesser quality. Sure my page views increased, but I wasn’t really helping anyone. By limiting my posting, I am able to create better content.

Lesson #2: Blogging is about more than just venting or talking about yourself.

It’s a great way for people with shared interests to find you. I’ve met a lot of really amazing people through my blog.

Lesson #3: Be passionate.

You need to be passionate about what you are doing, writing about. If you lose the passion, you will lose your motivation, your voice and the reason people read your blog.

Lesson #4: Stay organised.

Who here has trouble being organized…even though they would like to consider themselves an organized person? I try really hard, but if I don’t have an actual system, everything just falls apart. I’m actually not very good at this one, but I’m trying to get better at it. How do you stay Organised? Let me know in the Comments, I might get some ideas to stay more organised.

Lesson 5: Blogging is Hard Work.

Seriously!

While it would be great if you’re a naturally gifted writer – that has a knack for knowing what to say – for most of us this takes time. If it were easy, everyone would be doing it. It’s hard, really hard.

Lesson 6: It Takes Time.

You know that saying “Rome wasn’t built in a day?” Well it applies to blogging as well. I see so many beginner bloggers asking what they can do to get more Traffic on their blog. The thing is, there is no quick fix. Your blog isn’t magically going to become popular over night. You have to work for it. It takes time.

Lesson 7: High Quality Content is Key.

When I first started blogging, my posts were ridiculously short. Once I started publishing more High Quality posts, my page views increased. People shared my posts more and engagement went up. It’s amazing what some high quality content can do. Keep in mind high quality content doesn’t necessarily mean the post has to be 2000 words.

Lesson 8: I Love Blogging.

Blogging does, indeed, come with some real sacrifices and downsides. But the biggest thing I’ve learned from blogging is a self-realization: I love blogging. I love having a voice, love having my ideas appreciated, and occasionally debated or criticized. On most days, writing the next day’s blog post is my favourite part the day.

 Lesson #9: The Blogging Community is Incredibly Supportive.

I feel like there’s a bit of a misconception that being a blogger is a very self-absorbed field, but in actuality it’s made up of a ton of amazing people. Without a doubt, one of the best things about being a blogger is the blogging community. The thing I love the most about the blogging community is that everyone is so nice and Supportive.

Lesson #10: Blogging is the best thing I’ve ever done.

When I started this blog I didn’t think I would still be here a year later, I had no idea where it would go, I didn’t know if it would work out, and I did not expect to love it as much as I do. It’s been an incredible experience so far and I’m really looking forward to seeing where it goes next.

Lesson #11: It’s Okay to make Mistakes

I used to be terrified of making mistakes. I’m the type of person who’ll beat themselves up for them and I’m slowly learning to Let go of that. I sometimes  would find myself constantly questioning everything I write. Every single time I’d notice a small grammar error or a spelling mistake in a post that was already published, I’d feel paranoid. .The fact that you make mistakes is what makes you authentic, so if you happen to make them, don’t beat yourself up. Forgive yourself and move on.

Lesson 12: I really appreciate all of you.

If you’re reading this, thank you. If you’ve left a comment on my blog, I am sending you a virtual hug. I’m really happy to be able to help and/or entertain people by doing something I enjoy doing.

giphy.gif

Chat With Me

All in all, blogging has been a fun ride. I’ve learned a ton while doing what I love! Now it’s your turn to tell me what you’ve learnt since your started blogging.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Things I learned from 1 year of Blogging | 1 Year Blogiversary | Day 2

  1. Love this post! I’ve only been blogging for.. almost four months? But many of these lessons sound so familiar! Something I’d definitely mention myself is, not only the contact with fellow bloggers / book worms, but how much appreciation you can show by simply commenting on someone’s post. Every time someone new leaves a comment, I get a stupid grin on my face. Every. Time.

    As for the staying organized part; that’s something that can be on varying levels. Scheduling reading time, scheduling blog time, blog hopping time. Or simply starting a spreadsheet with all the ARC’s you got to read, make sure the publication date is mentioned and tadah. Now you know which ARC’s you should read first.
    As for the blogging time; I have the advantage that work’s been slow lately, so I’m often preparing my posts when it’s calm. Apart from that I schedule a fixed couple of hours during the weekend – if it’s necessary and work hasn’t been plain dead – to focus on my blog.
    I don’t really know what else I could do to organize myself better, haha.

    Again, congratulations! 😀

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Great tips/lessons! I loved this post! I have to totally agree with you on all of this! Though I have been blogging for about 2 years, I can always go and learn something new. I have to agree with you on the blogging every day thing. Just last month I thought I needed to post every day and it changed things a lot. But when I realized it really didn’t make a difference and I wasn’t happy with what was happening, I decided to change it. Thanks for writing such a great post! 😀

    Like

  3. Happy blogiversary!! I really loved reading this post, and I definitely agree with the points you made. 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

