September Read-a-thons

September Read-a-thon.png

Lately, I’ve discovered a few read-a-thons happening in September and, because they align with my reading goals for the month, I’m doing all of them! I thought I’d combine them here, along with what I plan to read for each, in case anyone else wants to get involved too.

Stephen King Readathon

Aug 21-Sep 21

In celebration of Stephen King’s 70th birthday, Josh from Literary Gladiators has created the Stephen King Read-a-thon. The aim is to read as many books by Stephen King as you want. You can see Josh introducing the new read-a-thon in his video here, or check out the Goodreads group.

My TBR:

Sequel September:

1st-30th September

I am participating in Sequel September, a fun idea by Kathy from Books and Munches to try to get through a bunch of TBR-sequels that have been gathering dust on our shelves for quite some time now. I think this is a great opportunity to read some of my long sequel TBR and I really want to do that. I own a lot of sequels, so I’m not going to put them all here, but Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these and what sequels you think I should prioritize.

My TBR:

Sherlock September

1st-30st September

The aim is to read as many of the Sherlock Holmes Novels as you want, Which includes: A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of the Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Valley of Fear, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, The Return of Sherlock Holmes, His Last Bow and The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes. This was created by Hanna @ The Dyslexic Reader. You can see her announcement in her Video Here.

I Suck at Read-a-thons (#ISATRAT)

18th-22nd September

This is a low key read-a-thon for people who suck at read-a-thons with a focus on community! This was created by Sam @ Sam’s Nonsense, you check out her Video Announcement and the Read-a-thon Twitter Page.

Reading Challenges:

1. Read the smallest book on your shelf 
2.
Read 10 pages/day 
3. Read a graphic novel

4. Finish 1 book 

5. Read for 20 mins/day

My TBR:

29451046 23492416

The Stolen White Elephant will complete 3 Challenges, Read the smallest book on your shelf – with 56 pages, Read 10 pages a day – The read-a-thon goes for 5 days, so if I read about 10 pages a day, I will have completed that challenge, and I would have read 1 book. I will complete the other 2 challenge by reading One Piece Manga Volume 34-36.

Prideathon

Sept 25th-Oct 1st

This is a Twitter based read-a-thon, and is Hosted by and . I had a really hard time finding books for this, I don’t own many LGBTQ+ and apparently South Australian Libraries don’t have many either.

Reading Challenges:

1) book w/ a trans/nonbinary MC
2) read a book w a LGBTQIAP+ MC you’ve never read before
3) read a non-YA novel w/ a LGBTQIAP+ MC
4) read a fairytale retelling w a LGBTQIAP+ MC
5) read a book w/ a disabled, queer MC that’s written by an author who’s also disabled
6) read a book where the main romance is a m/f bisexual romance
7) read an graphic novel w an LGBTQIAP+ MC

TBR:

1) 26156987 2) hpib; 3) index 4) 33358438 5) index 6) indexL7Z7J7VM


Are you participating in any of these Read-a-thons? Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? Also, If you have a TBR for September or any of these Read-a-thons, link them below in the Comments, I’d love to check them out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September Read-a-thons

  1. Amber says:

    Ooh, I had no idea Stephen King was 70. Good luck with It, that’s a big book! You saw the movie over the weekend, right? How’d you like it? (Sorry if I already asked that – a lot of people went to see it last weekend!)

    I think I might join in on the I Suck at Readathons Readathon…. That’s right up my alley.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank You! I did see IT over the Weekend and I loved it, I’m actually going to see it again Tonight. I don’t usually like remakes but this one was really good.

    You should definitely participate in the I Suck at readathons Read-a-thon, I love how Low it is and the main point being to just enjoy some purposeful reading time. you don’t even have to do much reading as long as you read a bit each day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: I Suck at Readathons, Readathon // I ACTUALLY did a Readathon, Guys! - The Literary Phoenix

Leave a Reply

