Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Published by: Allen & Unwin
Publication Date: November 1st, 2015
Series: The Illuminae Files, #1
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Format: Paperback
Pages: 599
Rating: 2
Date Read: 9/08/2017
Links: Goodreads BookTopia | Book Depository

moment, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason have nothing bigger to worry about than each other. Specifically, avoiding each other in the wake of their messy break-up. In the next second, their entire world falls apart.

The year is 2375 and one of the mega-corporations that control much of deep space has just fired the opening salvo in an intergalactic war, destroying Kady and Ezra’s planet. Forced to flee on a small fleet of crippled rescue ships alongside thousands of other refugees, the fear of enemy warships chasing them down is at first all-consuming but soon becomes the least of their worries. A deadly plague is ravaging the refugees on the ships; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be an enemy; and High Command is refusing to acknowledge that there may be a serious problem. As Kady plunges into a tangled web of data in search of the truth, she realises that Ezra is possibly the only person who can help her save the refugees before it’s too late

Illuminae definitely is something quite different. Told through a collection of hacked documents, emails, instant messages and so on, it tells the story of Kady and Ezra, a girl and a boy, stranded on two different fleets in trouble. Right before their planet was invaded, Kady broke up with Ezra, but because of the trouble and loss that result from the invasion, they connect again, this time through messages sent to each other via illegal connection links.

I’m sure this is as good as every one else seems to find it! It’s just not for me. It’s quite a disjointed format. I just wasn’t that into it. I definitely enjoyed the format, the story concept is interesting. But this was a doozy for me. Illuminae is choppy, jumpy, and jarring. I would still recommend the book, if you dare. Just be prepared for words to literally be all over the page in places and some font that is nearly impossible to read.

Also I found the story was just so boring. The sciencey stuff went over my head. The cheesy romance sections were so far under my head I could have been stepping on them. I didn’t care for the plot.

Bad start. And it didn’t get much better. After a lot of pages of interviews, all of a sudden we’re at war (still no idea where we are, what year it is, how we got here, etc.) and then young people are getting conscripted for the military.

Visually, Illuminae is an extremely fun and unique kind of book. A book this attractive should not be boring and yet the most exciting things about it – by far – were the unusual style and graphics. The story itself simply didn’t hold my attention. I found myself skimming and skipping many of the pages. Maybe it was because of the detailed scientific descriptions and diagrams of spaceships, Maybe it was the tiresome and dull “Unipedia” pages that made me feel like I was studying for an essay. It’s the kind of book that looks way better from far away.

My main problem with this book was that the format and the nature of the story caused me to feel detached from the characters and everything that happened to them. I never felt anything for them, so I was very unaffected by any “bad things” that happened.


That’s it for this review! I hope I didn’t offend anybody with this review, I know so many others loved this book, but this was just my opinion. Tell me in the comments if you agree or disagree with any of this. I’d love to know your opinion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

  1. Amber says:

    I love it when people who dislike popular books step up and say, “Sorry guys, butttt…….”. Good for you! You shouldn’t have to worry about offending anyone! Everyone likes different books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

