Alphabethon Round 3 Wrap-Up #Alphabethon

From July 31th-August 6th, I participated in the Alphabethon read-a-thon. This was my second time participating in this read-a-thon. The Alphabethon is a read-a-thon hosted by Michelle over at Bookaholic Banter. This round was the letter C. In my TBR for August I put down what my Possible reads were. Here are some of my thoughts on the books I read and which Challenges I completed, and I will be doing more full-length reviews for them at a later date.

Here are the Challenges:

1) Read a book with three Cs. (Title, Author’s first name, and last name all begin with C)
2) Read a book with a MC (main Character)  whose name starts with C
3) Read a book with a C setting. ( Town, City, State, etc. begins with C) 
4) Read a book that has a picture of something on the front or back Cover that begins with C  
5) Read your book in a spot other than the Couch that begins with C for a total of an hour. (example: car, closet, at a counter)
6) Read a book with a Count of under 200 pages.
7) Read a book with a Count of Over 400 Pages


The Carrie Dairies by Candace Bushnell – Read a book with a MC whose name starts with C & Read a book with a C Setting

7091370

2

The Carrie Diaries is about a girl – Carrie – as she goes through life in her last year of high school. We learn about stuff like how she feels about being left out. The story follows Carrie before she was a New York sociallite, when she still lived in the suburbs with her father and sister after her mother’s death.

At least 100 pages too long and exceedingly pointless. I have no idea what Bushnell was trying to do with this. It’s too slow, it fails miserably, with the fact that there is almost no character development whatsoever being one of numerous flaws. All of the characters are 2-dimensional, nearly interchangeable. I kept comparing the Carrie in this book to the Carrie of the show (which I’m a big fan of). But as such, there is basically nothing to her. I was hoping for a guilty pleasure in reading this, but it was more like a total waste of time. 


The Case Study of Vanitas Volume 2 by Jun Mochizuki

61i0Ow2sb9L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

5

This one doesn’t fit in with any of the challenges, but I bought this book recently and really wanted to read. The Title does start with C and the Challenges are optional though. I was super excited to read this book.

I can tell this is going to be a new favorite series. The character development is already strong The artwork is amazing, and so is the world-building. Victorian-era, but a little bit steampunk.


Started…

I also started reading these three books during the read-a-thon. I managed to get through the first 88 pages of The Chronicles of Narnia (Bind-up Edition),  69 pages of Worlds Collide and 14 pages of Stancliffe’s Hotel.


Lets look at stats…

I started 5 books during this read-a-thon.

I completed 2 books entirely within the read-a-thon.

I read a total of 666 pages during the read-a-thon.

Though I wish that I could have read a bit more, I’m still happy with my progress in this read-a-thon. I’m quite happy with this. Did you participate in this Read-a-thon? How did you do? What did you read? Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? What was your favourite book of the read-a-thon? Let me know how you did in the comments below and leave a link to your Wrap-up, so I can check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

