July Wrap Up, Haul & August TBR + Read-a-thons

July Wrap Up

What I Read in July:

1) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
2) To Be Read at Dusk (Little Black Classic) by Charles Dickens

3) Beauty & the Beast Novelisation by Elizabeth Rudnick
4) Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
5) Tales of Zestiria Volume 1 by Shiramine
6) One Piece: East Blue Volume 4-6 by Eiichiro Oda
7) You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan (Review)
8) One Piece: East Blue Volume 7-9 by Eiichiro Oda
9) One Piece: East Blue Volume 10-12 by Eiichiro Oda
10) One Piece: Baroque Works Volume 13-15 by Eiichiro Oda
11) Geography Club by Brent Hartinger
12) Pandora Hearts Volume 23 by June Mochizuki
13) One Piece Volume 16-18: Baroque Works by Eiichiro Oda

BookTube-A-Thon

At the beginning of the read-a-thon I posted my Booktube-A-Thon TBR. Let’s see how I did!

1) Finish a book in a Day – One Piece Volume 10-12 by Eiichiro Oda

bgi
2) Read a book with a Person on the Cover – Geography Club by Brent Hartinger

94072
3&6) Read a Hyped Book – You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan

27158835
4) Read about a character that is very different than you – One Piece Volume 13-15 by Eiichiro Oda

16058562
5) Finish a Book completely Outdoors – One Piece Volume 16-18 by Eiichiro Oda

161460147) Read Seven Books – One Piece Volume 7-9 by Eiichiro Oda, The Lion, The Witch & the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

I’m pretty proud of the Progress I made during this read-a-thon. I managed to complete all the challenges and Read seven books! I definitely didn’t expect to read seven books. I’m so pleased with these results! BookTube-A-Thon has definitely helped me catch up on my reading.

Naturally, the books I actually read strayed a little bit from my TBR, but that’s okay! It’s all about what we feel like reading.

Summer Biannual Bibliothon

Well, I also had a lot of fun doing this read-a-thon. I completed 6/7 Challenges, and I attempted to do the Blogging Challenges throughout the Week, which I failed at. I only ended up doing two Blogging Challenges, Blogger Book Tag & Write a Book Review.

2) Read a Book from one of the Hosts Favourite Genre – Diverse Book

27158835

3) Read a book that is or has been Banned

100915

4) Throwback Challenge – Graphic Novel

Vol_23_-_Alice

5&6) LGBTQI+ & Book to Movie Adaptation

94072

7) Read a book you’ve seen somewhere other than Booktube

5b49dd5655d7fcabd83deed892b44e74

I’m pretty proud of the Progress I made during this read-a-thon also. I managed to complete 6/7 challenges and Read Five books! I completed most of the challenges except the group read, Which was the Flame in the Mist. I really wanted to read this, but I don’t own it and I couldn’t find it anywhere.

Reviews Finished this Month:

Countless by Karen Gregory 
You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan

Tags & Memes Done This Month

Top Ten Tuesday #7: Best Books I’ve Read In 2017 So Far 
200 Followers Q&A + The Unique Blogger Award 
Decluttering Books 134-159 | Down the TBR hole #11 
The Sunday Post #24 | Big News + Giveaway – 9/07/2017 
Decluttering Books 159-184 | Down the TBR Hole #12 
Summer Biannual Bibliothon Day 1: Blogger Book Tag! #SummerBiBib 
The Sunday Post #25 | Chester Bennington Memorials – 30/07/2017 

Other Posts Done this Month:

BookTube-A-Thon TBR 
#24in48 Read-a-thon – Update #1 – Opening Survey 
#24in48 Read-a-thon – Update #2 – Hour 24 
#24in48 Read-a-thon – Update #3 – Hour 12 Challenge 
#24in48 Read-a-thon – Update #4 – Hour 36 
#24in48 Read-a-thon – Update #5 – Hour 48 
Make Me Read It Read-a-thon 2017 | Choose What I should Read #MakeMeRead 
July Duodecathon Wrap-Up #Duodecathon

How was your reading and blogging month this Month? What were your best or worst reads? What are you currently reading? What books are you excited for this coming month, August? Let me know in the comments!


July Haul

I did pretty well this month when it came to book buying. I’m trying to cut down on my book buying anyway, as I have too many book already. So these are the books I bought/received during the month of July. I acquired a total of 6 books!

Book I Bought:

Books I Received:

1) Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley
2) Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda
3) Geography Club by Brent Hartinger
4) You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan
5) Five Days in Paris by Danielle Steel
6) The Kingmakers Daughter by Philippa Gregory


August TBR

Read-a-thons

ARC August (#ARCAugust)

This is a challenge hosted by Read Sleep Repeat that devotes the entire month to catching up on all of those ARCs that you’ve been neglecting. So, I have a lot of ARCs that I need to get through that are either now backlisted or that are going to be released soon! I am absolutely sure that I will not be able to read every single one of these, but I do promise to try my best to read as many as possible without over-stressing myself. Here is a list of the ARCs that are on my list in no particular order!

1) See you in September by Charity Norman
2) The River Sings by Sandra Leigh Price
3) The Silent Corner by Dean Koontz
4) Kitty Hawk & the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading
5) Frostblood by Elly Blake
6) Moon Chosen by P.C. Cast
7) That Burning Summer by Lydia Syson
8) The Life She Was Given by Ellen Marie Wiseman
9) The Lake House by Kate Mortan
10) 10 Things I can See From Here by Carrie Mac
11) Dark Summer by Lizzy Ford
12) Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Read-a-thin (#ReadathinAug17)

If you don’t know what ‘Read-A-Thin’ is, this is a month-long readathon created and hosted by Amanda at ACourtofBooksandLove , Chelsea at AVeryBookishGirl, and Jessica @ Jessicamarie493This read-a-thon goes for the whole month and the goal is all about thinning down your long TBR list.

Here are the challenges:

1) Read a 2017 release
2) Read a book that is the same colour (or a similar colour) as your birthstone
3) Read a diverse book
Read a book with a title or author with the same first letter as the first letter in your first name (the words “a” and “the” don’t count)
Read a book that is related to your favorite emoji
Read a book starting with a letter from TBR (the word “the” doesn’t count)
Read a book with a summer themed cover
Read a book with a warm coloured cover (orange, red, yellow, brown)
Start and finish a series
Read a book in 24 hours
Read a new to you author
Book with water on the cover
Read a book set in summer
Buddy read a book
Read a book recommended to you by someone in the book community
Read a guilty pleasure read
Read an adult/new adult book
Read a book outside of your favourite genre

I’m not going to add my TBR for this one here, the books I’ll be reading and using to completing the challenges will be books I’m already reading for other reading Challenges and Read-a-thon throughout the Month.

Alphabethon (#Alphabethon)

The Alphabethon is a read-a-thon hosted by Michelle over at Bookaholic Banter. This read-a-thon is up to round three. It follows the alphabet, so this round is the letter C. Each round of this read-a-thon challenges you to read as many books as you can following the particular letter in the alphabet they’re up to.

This means you can read any book whose:

  • Title
  • Author’s surname
  • Author’s first name

Starts with the letter C. Alphabethon is running from the 31st July – 6th August. There are also reading Challenges. If I’m being honest, though, I totally forgot that there were reading challenges, so I haven’t picked a TBR with those in mind.

Here are the Challenges:

Read a book with three Cs. (Title, Author’s first name, and last name all begin with C) – None of the books on my TBR make this requirement.

Read a book with a MC (main Character)  whose name starts with C & Read a book with a Count of Over 400 Pages – World’s Collide by Chris Colfer (Connor)

Read a book with a C setting. ( Town, City, State, etc. begins with C) – The Carrie Diaries (Castlebury)

Read a book that has a picture of something on the front or back Cover that begins with C. – The Selection (Crown)

Read your book in a spot other than the Couch that begins with C for a total of an hour. (example: car, closet, at a counter)

Read a book with a Count of under 200 pages. – Stancliffe’s Hotel by Charlotte Bronte

Tome Topple (#TomeTopple)

I will also be participating in Tome Topple hosted by Samantha at Thoughts On Tomes. The Tome Topple Read-a-thon is a two-week read-a-thon that focuses on reading big books (500+ pages) on your TBR and I definitely have a few of them on my shelves. This will be my second time participating in this. It will take place from midnight in your time zone on August 4th to 11:59pm on August 17th, and the challenges are the following:

1) Read more than 1 tome
2) Read a graphic novel (that has over 500 pages)
3) Read a tome that’s part of a series
4) Buddy read a tome
5) Read an adult novel

IT by Stephen King (1,477 pages)

This one was on my TBR last Tome Topple and I still haven’t finished. So I’m hoping to finally finish it this round. This will cover the challenge to read an Adult book.

London by Edward Rutherfurd (1,299 pages)

Another book that was on my TBR last round and still haven’t gotten around to reading. This will cover the Challenge to read an Adult book and Read more than one Tome.

Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling (800 pages)

Most of these books were on my TBR last round and so was this one. This fits into the challenge to read a Tome that’s part of a series.

One Piece by Eiichiro Oda (Bind-up, #19-#21, 600 pages)

One of the challenges is to read a graphic novel, as a break during this read-a-thon, to break it up, so I thought I would read this. This is my Graphic Novel selection.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire (538 Pages)

Moon chosen by P.C. Cast (608 Pages)

I received an eArc of this ages ago and haven’t had the chance to read it. I thought I might take the opportunity to try and at least start the book if I get the chance. This is also Part of a series.

So that’s my TBR for Tome Topple. I’m not planning on reading all of these. Also, one of challenges  is to buddy read a tome, I don’t have any plans to Buddy Read any of these  but If you are interested in reading any of these books with me, please leave a comment on this post or send me a message on Twitter.

Let’s Be Mermaids

This read-a-thon is running from the 4th to the 10th of August and, as you can guess, it is all about mermaids. There is reading challenges, video challenges, and a movie challenge. I will be participating in everything but the video challenges.

The Youtube Announcement Video

Here is the list of the reading challenges.

1. Read the group book: Forsaken by Kristen Day
2. Read a mermaid book without a mermaid on the cover
3. Read a book about Mermaids from a different mythology or culture (i.e. Sirens, Selkies)
4. Read a Little Mermaid Retelling or The Real Story
5. Read A book about a sea creature (no mermaids)
6. Wild Card: Read a book from your TBR (does not have to be mermaid related)
7. Take a break: Watch a Mermaid Movie or TV Show
 
1-2) Forsaken by Kristen Day
4) Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama
6) The Grim Grotto by Lemony Snicket
7) Aquamarine (Movie)

Make Me Read It (#MakeMeRead)

Hosted by Ely at Tea & Titles and Val at The Innocent Smiley. The results from the polls are in! Thank you to everyone who voted in the poll. I am really excited to be taking part in the Make Me Read It Read-a-thon this year because you get to decide which of the books on my TBR list I need to read next. I’m looking forward to reading these books. Here are the books in the order I’ll be reading them in, thanks to your votes. Some of the book tied, so if I get up to those books I’ll just choose the one I’d like to read most.

Illumunae by Amy Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
IT by Stephen King
Moon Chosen by P.C. Cast or Frostblood by Elly Blake
Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
That Burning Summer by Lydia Syson or The Life she was given by Ellen Marie Wiseman
Wicked by Gregory Maguire
10 Things I can See from here by Carrie Mac, The Locksmiths Daughter, Two by Two by Nicholas Sparks, or River Sings by Sandra Leigh Price


What books did you finish this July? Are you going to be participating in any of these read-a-thon? What are you planning on reading in August, I would love to know. If you have your own Haul/Wrap-Up/TBR post, leave them down below as well.

Click on the links to go to the goodreads pages to find out more about the books and authors.

Follow Me Here:

Goodreads Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Etsy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

