Top Ten Tuesday #7: Best Books I’ve Read In 2017 So Far

This is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week bloggers share a list of books for the prompt given. I’ve decided to do last weeks prompt Today Instead as I didn’t do it Last Tuesday. This was too fun of a list to miss out on. So the suggested topic is last week was:

Top Ten Series Best Books I’ve Read In 2017 So Far

Unfortunately I’ve not read as many books as I would have liked to by this point in the year. Honestly, I’m a bit disappointed with my reading this year. Very few books have impressed me, but I’m hoping that my end-of-year best books list looks completely different from this one.

images

An Author’s Odyssey by Chris Colfer

np;

 

This is the Fifth book in The Land of Stories series. These books are amazing. I absolutely love the series and the way of writing is funny and imaginative. I have thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in this series. So of course I was looking forward to reading this book and I’m really excited for the Next Book’s Release.

My Review of An Author’s Odyssey

 

images

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

images

 

This is the Second book in The Dark Artifices Series. These books seriously just keep getting better and better. The writing has improved so much and the characters here are my absolute favourites. I really do love every single character in this series. I had a lot of fun with this book and just wish we didn’t have to wait so long for the next one! I also just realized I never actually did a review of this, so you should keep an eye out for that soon too!

images

Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

8407173

 

This novel is the Aussies doing what they do best – underdog characters, prejudice, struggle, hatred, hopelessness, fatalism and hope. But in the end being able to show how the seemingly randomness of life actually means something, makes sense, is worth it all.

It’s beautifully written. It’s hilarious, heart-warming, nostalgic and heart-breaking. If you are to pick up one more Aussie book this year, let it be this one.

images

Inyoni Rocks by Carmen-Shea Hepburn

33381465

 

This is the Second book in the Amanzimtoti series, set in South Africa. Now, this is a heavy book, as consistent with Carmen’s style. It deals with the darker sides of humanity. The uglier things. It doesn’t cast a spotlight on the triumph of the hero. It instead highlights the struggles behind the curtains.

My Review of Inyoni Rocks

images

Traffick by Ellen Hopkins

23015872

 

A powerful and confronting follow-up to Tricks, which deals with the aftermath of the characters’ experiences with sex trafficking, abuse, gambling and addiction.

 

 

 

images

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

17347389

 

This book takes up from the end of the first book. The search of the Welsh king continues. But in this book, the focus is more on Ronan and his dreams….

The whole concept of the dream and what all happens in this book with regards to it was really interesting and this part of the story kept me completely hooked.

images

Flush by Virginia Woolf

18844

 

“Flush” is a dog of good breeding and this is part of the enchantment of his story, that you can imagine he might just be a particularly introspective canine. In this speculative biography of Elizabeth Barrett-Browning’s cocker spaniel, Woolf entertainingly explores Victorian life from a dog’s point of view.

Though this book may be slight, the writing is stunningly good: it’s lyrical, humorous, and full of the kind of insights and observations readers of Woolf would expect. I enjoyed the book and recommend it for historical fiction lovers.

My Review of Flush

 

images

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins

30312837

 

I think this is as strong of an addition to Hopkins’s bibliography as any of her works and I enjoyed the experience.

My Review of The You I’ve Never Knownimages

The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snicket

324277

 

This is the ninth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. Similarly to book eight, this wasn’t the most memorable in the series but I absolutely loved the intensity of the ending! I thought the kids starting to question and doubt themselves and their actions was really interesting too! This was a slightly drearier book in tone than the others, but it worked in connection to the Baudelaire’s reclining and undoubtedly exhausting situation!

images

Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

22844191

 

Some people have said this was their favourite – this is actually my least favourite of the first four, but we get more in-depth glimpses into favourite characters, new characters introduced that are amazing, and an excellent adventure into the wild and complex wizarding world that is Harry Potter.

Have you read any of these books? What are your favourite books of the year so far? Do you have a number one favourite book yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

