Reducing your TBR | Part 1 | Discussion #6

Having a tbr-list is very handy, but it can also be very frustrating. I hope I’ll be able to help you with these little tips! If you’re like me, you’ve got a To Be Read pile the size of Mount Everest and growing. I love to read, but there aren’t enough hours in the day to make a dent in my TBR Pile.

Even if you don’t have a huge TBR pile, you can still use this guide to increase your reading productivity. Making your way through books you have to read — as opposed to those you read for fun — doesn’t have to be a chore.

TBRs are intimidating in my opinion. So many books to read and so little time to read them! And I can’t stop buying book! Even though my bookshelves are filled with tons and tons of unread books already. So I figured it would be nice to share with you a few tips from my experience, on how to keep on reading, and reduce your TBR. Anyway, I thought I’d give you guys some tips on how to keep your TBR down, and maybe I’d give myself some motivation!


Tip #1: Read More

You could do this by Reading multiple books at once, which is what I do. I can read multiple books at once and keep up with it all. I usually have three or four books in rotation, for different times or moods. Whenever I finished a book, I could swap it out for one of the novels I was already reading. And having multiple books to read made me less likely to burn out. I know not everybody can do this or just prefers to focus on one book at a time, that’s also fine, But I find that this tip helps me to read more.

You could also do this by Listening to audiobooks. Recently I have been listening to audiobook a lot more. I never used to like audiobooks, but I find that it helps when I have a very busy schedule. You can listen to audiobooks when doing housework/Chores, when your exercising, tidying up, and working on your blog. I love Listening to audiobooks while I’m working on my Blog, It actually makes me feel more productive. The only problem with doing this is that I tend to get distracted or zone out, and end up missing some of it. I know, reading the book yourself is fun, but if you haven’t tried listening to a audiobook, you really should!

Take books everywhere. If you always have a book, you might find yourself turning to it in those everyday boring situations. In line at the post office. In the doctor’s waiting room. In the train. On your lunch break. Boredom can be a great motivator.


Tip #2: Keep yourself motivated to read

Don’t make reading into a chore. Reading is supposed to be a fun activity. Don’t force yourself to read things you hate. If you can’t get into a book, move onto a new one. Read only books that you enjoy reading. And get super comfortable with NOT completing a book. If a book sucks, stop reading it.

Join a book club. This allows you to connect with other readers. Coming together with others and discussing what you’re reading makes the material feel more relevant and gives you a chance to hear a wide variety of opinions. Plus, It’s a lot of fun.

Remove distractions. Assuming that you do have a problem with getting distracted by things, see if you can remove them. If it’s noise, find a quiet place or use earplugs. If it’s technology, put it in another room, turn it off, or read in another room. I like to read in the spare room, there’s a TV in there but still less distractions than in my own room.


Tip #3: Read what you want, when you want

Don’t pressure yourself to read a 500-page-book if you’re not in the mood. Read at your own pace and read whatever you feel like at the time. I’m pretty much a mood reader. I won’t enjoy a book as much if I’m not in the mood for it at that time.


Tip #4: Avoid Reading Slumps

Every reader has been through the dreaded Reading Slump, this is easier said than done, so I will share some ways that have helped me avoid reading slumps and hopefully that might help you too. I am planning on doing a separate post on this and go more in depths on this topic, but for now these are just a few ways that I find helpful.

Read Graphic Novels/Manga. Sometime novels can be too daunting. So why not try a quick and short read like a graphic novel/Manga! I read Manga when I feel a reading slump coming on or just don’t feel like reading anything bigger. If you just can’t get into any novels, try something light.

Try Different Genres. I used to read mostly fantasy, it wasn’t until recently that I branched out and discovered that there are a lot of other different kinds of books. So now I read all sorts of books. This one helped me a lot.

Set Small Goals. When I have a long book that I really want to finish, I divide it up into small sections. I put post-it notes on each section, and when I get to the end of that chapter, I get to take out the post-it note. Seeing that I only have to read twenty pages is a lot less daunting than seeing a thousand page book.


Tip #5: List all of the books

I started doing this at the beginning of April, I’m Currently making a list with all of the books I own, alphabetically by authors last name. I made sure that all series were listed together, in the correct reading order. I starting doing and I will be posting it onto my blog soon, It will be a list of all the books I own. I’m hoping to have that up by the end of May, if you would like to check that out. I will also be updating it as I go.


Because this was a lot longer than I thought it was going to be, there will be a part Two which will be up Tomorrow. So if you enjoyed this and found it helpful, come back and check out part two.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

