Decluttering Books 33-43 | Down the TBR Hole #4

This meme is hosted by Lia @ LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them.

Anyway, it works like this: Go to your goodreads to-read shelf, Order on ascending date added, Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books, Read the synopses of the books, Decide: keep it or should it go?

Related image

Kiera’s Moon by Lizzy Ford

Kiera's Moon (The Anshan Saga, #1)

When starving artist Kiera wakes up on board a spaceship, she panics. Her best friend has dragged her across the universe to help her find a man and a life, only the man she ends up unwittingly hooking up with is a battle-hardened warrior prince living in exile.

Calculating, cautious A’Ran wants nothing more than to reclaim his planet. He needs Kiera as his lifemate to heal his planet and his war weary people. He’s not prepared to be a lifemate himself, and discovers almost too late what he risks losing if he can’t learn to be more than a warrior.

The premise sounds interesting. When Kiera is kidnapped and taken into space by her best friend, she tries everything to go home. I’m currently Dark Summer by her, I’m enjoying it so far. I love her writing style. When I finish reading that I might decide to read more of her books. But for now…

Do I own it? No

Verdict: REMOVE

Related image

Rebel Heart by Lizzy Ford

Rebel Heart

After nuclear strikes cripple the East Coast in the year 2135, security expert Lana is alone with a secret she must protect at all costs, even if it means placing her life – and her heart – in the hands of Brady, the compelling, dangerous leader of the rebellion.

As a member of the lower class, Brady serves two masters: the rebellion and the regular army. It will take all his connections and strength to protect Lana and keep from falling in love with her.

I’m really not interested in this one at all. I don’t think that I’ll ever read it. The synopsis doesn’t hold my interest.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: REMOVE

Related image

Roomies by Sara Zara

Roomies

It’s time to meet your new roomie.

When East Coast native Elizabeth receives her freshman-year roommate assignment, she shoots off an e-mail to coordinate the basics: television, microwave, mini-fridge. That first note to San Franciscan Lauren sparks a series of e-mails that alters the landscape of each girl’s summer — and raises questions about how two girls who are so different will ever share a dorm room.

As the countdown to college begins, life at home becomes increasingly complex. With family relationships and childhood friendships strained by change, it suddenly seems that the only people Elizabeth and Lauren can rely on are the complicated new boys in their lives . . . and each other. Even though they’ve never met.

National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr and acclaimed author Tara Altebrando join forces for a novel about growing up, leaving home, and getting that one fateful e-mail that assigns your college roommate.

Roomies caught my eye a while ago, because of the two girls from the opposite sides of the country getting to know each other through email, and becoming close friends. This concept is something that interests me, and I usually enjoy reading about.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: KEEP

Priority Level (1-10, 10 meaning Top Priority)? 4

Related image

Pretty when she Dies by Rhiannon Frater

Pretty When She Dies (Pretty When She Dies, #1)

Amaliya wakes under the forest floor, disoriented, famished and confused. She digs out of the shallow grave and realizes she is hungry…

… in a new, horrific, unimaginable way…

Sating her great hunger, she discovers that she is now a vampire, the bloodthirsty creature of legend. She has no choice but to flee from her old life and travels across Texas. Her new hunger spurs her to leave a wake of death and blood behind her as she struggles with her new nature.

All the while, her creator is watching. He is ancient, he is powerful, and what’s worse is that he’s a necromancer. He has the power to force the dead to do his bidding. Amaliya realizes she is but a pawn in a twisted game, and her only hope for survival is to seek out one of her own kind.

But if Amaliya finds another vampire, will it mean her salvation… or her death?

I’m on the fence about this one. I don’t think I’m going read this book anytime soon, but the Synopsis sounds kind of terrifying, and like something I would enjoy. I’m still intrigued but I’m going to pass on this one for now.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: REMOVE
Related image

The tale of the Vampire Bride by Rhianna Frater

The Tale Of The Vampire Bride (Vampire Bride, #1)

All I ever wanted was the freedom to live life as I pleased, despite my aristocratic parents’ hopes I’d secure a prestigious husband. But my fate was far more terrible than an arranged marriage when my family became prisoners to one of the most fearsome and powerful vampires of all time, Count Vlad Dracula.

Imprisoned in the decrepit castle in the Carpathian Mountains, my new life as a Bride of Dracula was filled with bloody feasts, cruel beatings, and sexual depravity. There was no hope of escape

It was only when he took me to the picturesque city of Buda on the Danube River and I met a handsome, mysterious vampire in the darkened city streets, did I dare hope to find love and freedom.

To be honest, I don’t know why I added this one. Not really interested in this series, I actually don’t know why I ever thought this sounded interesting and the cover is horrible. I added this when I was in my Vampire phase.

Do I own it? No

verdict: REMOVE

Related image

The Man who watched the world End by Chris Dietzel

The Man Who Watched The World End

The end of man was not signalled by marauding gangs or explosions, but with silence. People simply grew older knowing a younger generation would not be there to replace them. The final two residents in the neighbourhood of Camelot, an old man and his invalid brother, are trapped in their house by forests full of cats and dogs battling with the bears and wolves to eat anything they can find.

As the man struggles to survive, he recounts all the ways society changed as the human population continued to shrink. THE MAN WHO WATCHED THE WORLD END is the haunting account of a man who has witnessed the world fade away. It is also a story about the power of family.

This is the first book in The Great De-evolution series. This description of this one sounds interesting. I haven’t read many books like this, so I do want to read this one.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: KEEP

Priority Level (1-10, 10 meaning Top Priority)? 4

Related image

A different Alchemy by Chris Dietzel

A Different Alchemy

As the human population continues to decline, most people travel south to maintain a semblance of the life they know. Entire cities are abandoned. But following a senseless act of violence, one man travels north, toward forgotten lands. Is it possible for a loving husband and father, surrounded by reminders of mankind’s impending extinction, to reclaim what he lost?

A DIFFERENT ALCHEMY is the tale of a man realizing that everyone has their own pain and their own way of dealing with it. It is the story of how one father’s loss can mirror an entire society’s sorrow. It is also a lesson about the importance of forgiveness.

This is the second book in The Great De-evolution series. Even though each book in this series is a standalone and they do not have a suggested reading order, I still would like to read them in order.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: REMOVE

Related image

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Inkheart (Inkworld, #1)

Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can “read” fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

Characters from books literally leap off the page in this engrossing fantasy. Meggie has had her father to herself since her mother went away when she was young. Mo taught her to read when she was five, and the two share a mutual love of books. He can “read” characters out of books. When she was three, he read aloud from a book called Inkheart and released characters into the real world. At the same time, Meggie’s mother disappeared into the story. This “story within a story” will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters.

This has been on my TBR list for a long time. A book about being able to read the characters out of books and become a part of these magical literary worlds. I have seen the movie and enjoyed it. This was one of my favourite movies, so I’m a bit intimidated to read this after watching the movie so many times. One of my favourite movies of all time but I’ve never read the book.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: KEEP

Priority Level (1-10, 10 meaning Top Priority)? 10

Related image

Reckless by Cornelia Funke

Reckless (Mirrorworld, #1)

Ever since Jacob Reckless was a child, he has been escaping to a hidden world through a portal in his father’s abandoned study. Over the years, he has made a name for himself as a finder of enchanted items and buried secrets. He’s also made many enemies and allies–most important, Fox, a beautiful shape-shifting vixen whom Jacob cares for more than he lets on.

But life in this other world is about to change. Tragedy strikes when Jacob’s younger brother, Will, follows him through the portal. Brutally attacked, Will is infected with a curse that is quickly transforming him into a Goyl–a ruthless killing machine, with skin made of stone.

Jacob is prepared to fight to save his brother, but in a land built on trickery and lies, Jacob will need all the wit, courage, and reckless spirit he can summon to reverse the dark spell–before it’s too late.

This books sounds interesting, and I’m hoping to eventually read it. Though probably not anytime soon. I’d like to read the Inkheart Series first. If I enjoy that, then I might read this series. So for now…

Do I own it? No

Verdict: REMOVE

Related image

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander (Outlander #1)

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

I’ve heard a lot of people rave about this one. It has received lots of good reviews so I’m excited to read it. I will most likely listen to this one on audiobook. It’s 800+ pages, so I find it extremely intimidating. Have you read? If so, do you think this is worth reading or listening to on audio? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

Do I own it? No

Verdict: KEEP

Priority Level (1-10, 10 meaning Top Priority)? 6

Related image

I have removed 6\10 books from my TBR this week! If you enjoyed this & would like to see what else is on my Goodreads TBR, stick around for more.

Have you read any of these books? If you’ve read any of these books, I’d love to hear your opinions about them. How do you feel about my choices? Do you think I’ve Made the right decisions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decluttering Books 33-43 | Down the TBR Hole #4

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Outlander for a long time too! Every time I declutter, I always keep it on my shelf but still haven’t read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arshid feroz says:

    can you check out my Motivational blog also ? i just published it > https://arshidferoz.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/how-to-overcome-different-situations-in-life/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

