TBR Jar Wednesday

About two years ago, I made a TBR jar! I’ve never really used it though, so as my TBR list seems to be growing longer by the minute, I’d like to finally put it to use. TBR stands for To-Be Read, my TBR consists of approximately 250 books. Also, my TBR Jar has both Book Titles & Categories, but for this meme I’m only using the Categories.

The idea of a TBR Jar is to basically write the titles – or in this case categories – onto small slips of paper. These slips of paper then go into the jar. When you need a book to read, but don’t know which, you simply pick a random slip of paper.

TBR Jar Wednesday is a new weekly meme created here at Drink Coffee and Read Books. You can participate in this if you have a TBR jar or even if you don’t. Each month you will randomly choose a category from your TBR, or if you don’t have a TBR Jar, you can use my Category for that month and make a post with three books that fit that category from your TBR, it doesn’t have to be a book you own. It could be a book that you would like to purchase and add your link on the linky that will be provided on my post. Your followers and the people on the linky will help you choose which book you will read next. The following Wednesday you will announce the book that won. Then read the book, on the third Wednesday of the month post a review, and on the fourth Wednesday you can come up with some creative relating to that book, although this last one will be optional. 

In case that was a little confusing, I’ll give you a few more details:

The first Wednesday – Randomly choose a category from your TBR, choose three books from you TBR that fit that category, make a post with the 3 books of your choice and then link it to the linky on my blog. My post will go up at 7am ACST. Make sure you link back to me on your post. You can do the Polling however you would like, Survey Monkey, Polldaddy, InLinkz or whatever you can find that is free. All I ask is to please link it back to me. 

The second Wednesday – This is the day you announce which book won. Link your post to the link on my blog.

The third Wednesday – This is when your review will go up regardless of how you liked the book. Please note even if you didn’t finished it just write a small post about how you felt about the book. I don’t write DNF reviews, but I do for this feature so my followers can see what I thought about the book they picked for me.

The final review post will also have a link on it so you can link up your reviews and we can see what you thought of the book that was picked. This will draw some views to your blog.

The fourth Wednesday – You don’t have to post anything. Although If you would like to, you can come up with something creative. Have a bit of fun with it. 

Create a mini or full soundtrack for that book based on characters and plot details. Come up with an original recipe to go with the book. Come up with a DIY Project for the book. Or even just a creative photo of the book. I’d love to see what everyone else comes up with.

My post for this will also have a link on it so you can link up your post and we can see what creative ideas you thought of for the book that was picked. But like I said above, this one is optional.

So would you be interested in joining me? If you have any questions at all please let me know. Also if you would like to know more about my TBR Jar, let me know in the comments. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TBR Jar Wednesday

  1. tpolen says:

    My TBR is around 110 – with yours at 250, I don’t feel quite as bad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

