Unicorn Read-a-thon Wrap-Up

If you read my Unicorn Read-a-thon | The Pile Post, You’d know I participated in the unicorn Read-a-thon, Hosted by Roya @ UnicornHunterBooks, Emily @ SnowWhiteGrl, and Kayla @ HeroicPages. The aim of this read-a-thon was to read books that have magical creatures on the cover, in the story, or in the title. That’s the only Rule. Here are some of my thoughts on the books I read, and I will be doing more full-length reviews for them later on.

My TBR:

untitled

What I actually Read…

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them

91igigbj0vl


The Bronze Key (Magisterium #3)The Bronze Key by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

The Bronze Key is the third book in the Magisterium series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. The action picks back up in this book shortly after the ending of the second as Call, Aaron and Tamara are beginning their bronze year at the Magisterium.

I felt the authors did a great job in reminding readers of what had happened previously in the series rather quickly. A few really shocking moments in here that again have me wishing for the next book right away.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling22844191

There’s really not much to say here; it’s Harry Potter so what’s not to love? Although, this one is actually my least favourite so far. The side characters really stand out in this one. Fleur and Krum and Cedric are all such great characters.

My main complaint is that the sideplots are terrible. Harry and Ron and Hermione… were not at their bests in this book. There’s too much drama between Ron and Harry and Hermione, in the first half, and while that drama is character-driven and well executed, it’s not enjoyable to read about.


Started:

I also started reading these two books during the read-a-thon. I read 38 pages of Yellow Brick War and 20 pages of The Bone  Season.

Lets look at stats…

I started 5 books during this read-a-thon.

I completed 3 books entirely within the read-a-thon.

I read a total of 1, 224 pages during the read-a-thon.

Did you participate in the Unicorn Read-a-thon? If so, I hope you all had a successful read-a-thon. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

