RYBSAT Round 10 Wrap Up

If you read my RYBSAT Round 10 | The Pile Post, You’d know I participated in the RYBSAT Read-A-Thon, hosted by Miranda at BooKss101. This round went for 2 weeks, between the 27th of March until the 10th of April. Here are some of my thoughts on the books I read, and I will be doing more full-length reviews for them later on. (Week 1 Update)

My TBR:

Capture

What I actually read…

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg


This May Sound CrazyThis May Sound Crazy by Abigail Breslin

4

This is part self-help book, part relationship memoir and I liked the nice mix of the two. For me, this was more entertainment than self-help simply because I could not relate to all the things she talked about. This quick read was really cute and fun. She gives some really great relationship advice, along with some sweet stories & positive inspiration. Plus, I read this in about an hour.


91igigbj0vlFantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay3

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is the screenplay for the movie. I couldn’t find a single difference from the movie. It was such a detailed script which invited you to follow the storyline closely. I really loved the design of this book, especially when you finish each chapter and saw the pictures of each fantastic beast. It is exactly like the movie though, so it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to read the book when you could just watch the movie. I just found that reading it didn’t have the same impact on me as watching it. But it was still fun to read.


traffick-9781442482876_hrTraffick by Ellen Hopkins

4

Traffick takes place after Tricks, following the same five protagonists we met in the first book. I honestly didn’t feel as though the book needed a sequel, but I appreciated the focus on the aftermath and recovery of the teenagers. I love Ellen Hopkins. Every one of them is filled with so many feels. You cannot help but get lost in them and find yourself caring for the characters. Traffick takes place after all of the events that happened during Tricks. Each one has a difficult time, for various different reasons. This is definitely filled with a lot of hard topics; addiction, sex, abuse, family issues, etc.


The Blue Cat by Ursula DubosarskyThe Blue Cat

4

There is certainly an atmosphere of anticipation seeping through this novel and I was constantly poised for some significant action to take place. Rather, the story unfolds gently through Columba’s interactions with her brash, larger-than-life friend Hilda and the silent Ellery. Atmospheric as Dubosarsky’s writing may be, I couldn’t help but feel there was something missing from this book. The first candidate for the MIA label is the cat – he makes the briefest of brief appearances and doesn’t seem, as the blurb suggests, to be keeping any secrets at all. Rather, he seems to be acting like an ordinary cat: flighty, unpredictable and completely indifferent as to whether humans pay attention to him or not. One thing I did love about the book was the inclusion of primary source materials. Every few pages a newspaper article, photograph or advertisement from the time pops up and I found these interesting.


32021893Stargazing for Beginners by jenny McLachlan

2

I struggled with this one, I found that the book wasn’t really holding my attention and I struggled to push through. The book was also really predictable, I wasn’t too far in and I could already tell exactly how it was going to end. I also didn’t find it to be at all emotionally engaging as I did not feel emotionally connected to any of the characters. I will say that the writing in this book is really good. I liked her style and the way that she dealt with a very difficult situation.  


Pandora Hearts Manga #20, #21, #22 by Jun Mochizuki

4

As you can probably tell from the title, Pandora Hearts is a reimagining of Alice in Wonderland, and contains strong Alice in Wonderland references throughout.  This is a really good series. So many twists and turns. Then there’s the artwork, the artwork is magnificent. Pandora Hearts is underrated. It tells a creative tale of a young, upper-class boy named Oz. It’s woven with an Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland theme. Only there’s a dark twist.


The Case Study of Vanitas Manga #1 by Jun MochizukiVanitasCellPhoneWallpaper_V2-1

3

The art is simply stunning, as expected of Jun Mochizuki. The characters are amazing and mysterious. Vanitas is such a bubbly guy, but sometimes he seems like a psychopath, an eccentric-slash-crazy human who calls himself a Vampire doctor, and naïve but strong vampire Noe.

These characters are always dangerous, especially when written by Mochizuki. The characters are so well described, and their personalities are so unique. I have to say that I love the background details and the steampunk touch of the environment.

We have the legend of the Vampire of the Blue Moon, that sets the story around the mystery of the book of Vanitas that it’s said to be able to control and destroy vampires. Beautiful artwork and interesting story. I will definitely continue this series.


Started…

I started reading these three books during the read-a-thon. I read 37 pages of Skyfire and 209 pages of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I also decided to pick up the next book on my Tome Topple TBR IT by Stephen King. I managed to get through the first 156 pages.


It felt amazing when I realised that I had completed nine books in two weeks. I am extremely happy with this. I really didn’t expect to read this much during this read-a-thon. So I did a lot better than what I expected.

Lets look at stats…

I started 12 books during this read-a-thon.

I completed 9 books entirely within the read-a-thon.

I read a total of 2, 793 pages during the read-a-thon.

Did you participate in RYBSAT? If so, I hope you all had a successful read-a-thon. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know how you did in the comments below. Comment below with the link to your Wrap-Up. What was your favourite book of the read-a-thon?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RYBSAT Round 10 Wrap Up

  1. Good job on getting so much read. That’s awesome! Skyfire looks like a good book. And of course you can never go wrong with Harry Potter.

    Like

  2. Wow.. a lot of books! I’m planning to join a reading challenge this month. My TBR is out of control. Anyway, I’m curious about Traffick. 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

