Top Ten Tuesday #2 | Books that will make you read the whole day away

This is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week bloggers share a list of books for the prompt given. Today’s suggested topic is:

Read In One Sitting Theme: ten of the shortest books I’ve read, top ten books I read in one sitting, ten books to read when you are short on time, top ten books that will make you read the whole day away, etc.  

I ended up going the ‘books that will make you read the day away’ route.  It was easy to think of books that were so good I completely lost track of time and ended up reading the entire day away. I read pretty slowly, so I rarely read books in one sitting. So here are just a few titles that once I got started on them, I got so caught up in the story that I just wanted to read the whole day away.

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart (Review)

We Were Liars is about a girl named Cadence Sinclair who is the heir to the Sinclair family island. The Sinclair’s are beautiful, blonde, rich and at first glance, their family seems perfect. Every summer, the family travels to their island. Cadence and three others are known throughout the novel as the Liars.

It’s been awhile since I read this one, but I’m pretty sure I read it in one afternoon. I could not put it down. I read the entire day away because I was so captivated by the story.


Amanzimtoti [2]: Inyoni RocksInyoni Rocks by Carmen-Shea Hepburn (Review)

Inyoni Rocks is the Sequel to The Ridge, a brilliant début set in South Africa. It takes up not long after the last book. The story is told in the third-person POV of Wayne Du Preez. I’ve been waiting for this sequel for a while now. I adored the first book, so I was pretty hyped up to read this sequel. I was hooked on finding out what happened to the characters and their relationship with each other.

This one was definitely an all day read. I didn’t finish it all in one day, but I did read the majority of it in one day.


25494343Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (Review)

This book is the start of a new series with different main characters in a new location, but it still brings in some familiar faces to connect all of the stories.

I read this in just three days. I could not put it down. This book was amazing, I loved the characters, loved the world-building and the secrets that were revealed, even the ones I was in no way expecting, and finally I loved the Annabel Lee inspiration this book has. 


Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Review)18296030

This is the story of Samantha and her trying to find what happened to her best friend, Cassie. Sam is popular, rich, beautiful and has it all or so it may seem at first glance. Perfect boyfriend, perfect friends, perfect family. But everything is not as it seems.

From the very first page, this book had me enthralled. The story was captivating. This book had my attention and kept me guessing right up until the end.


15870399Tilt by Ellen Hopkins (Review)

This book is told by three different teens; Shane, Mikayla, and Harley. They take turns telling their stories. Ellen Hopkins uses her mastery of sensory words to make a perfect world where the characters can always find their place to fit in in the world.

It looks like a big book but it’s actually a fairly quick read and I totally read it in one sitting without meaning to. I just couldn’t stop turning the pages. The format of Tilt made it an easy book to get lost in.


Every you, Every me by David Levithan (Review) 9972838

Evan is on his way home from school when he finds an envelope on the ground that has a photo inside. He starts to think that Ariel is back to torment him, because of what he did to her. As they unravel the mystery behind the photographs, he soon discovers how little he knows about Ariel and the truth.

I was so hooked on this story. I didn’t expect to really be hooked by this book. I expected to like it but it was one of those surprise books that absolutely hooked me.  I loved the characters and wanted to know what happened.


12000020Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Bejamin Alire Saenz (Review)

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is written in first person by Aristotle. Ari is a fifteen year old moody loner who at the beginning of his summer break decides to go swimming at the local pool. Though he really can’t swim, never learned how, so he only floats around on his back. But when he hears, “Want me to teach you how to swim?” He meets Dante and a friendship blossoms.

I was so wrapped up in the friendship/romance, I easily devoured the book in one day. Almost one sitting.


The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (Review) 20958632

The story is written entirely in 3rd person and takes place in Fairfold, a town where both humans and fae co-exist. The book revolves around a brother and sister, Ben and Hazel. Ever since they were children, they have dreamed of waking up the Prince, a young man who is sealed within an unbreakable glass coffin and has been sleeping for generations in the depths of the forest.

I absolutely loved this book. One of my favourite stand alones. From the first paragraph I was sucked in.


6658391Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson (Review)

I really enjoyed the overall experience of this book, it was a roller coaster ride of emotions but in the end felt so real and raw. Anderson doesn’t sugar coat eating disorders in this story, but instead shows all the highs and lows that Lia goes through.

I read this one in one night. I could not put it down. I got so swept up in it that I finished it really quickly.


Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger, #1)Flowers in the Attic by Virginia Andrews (Review)

This book begins by introducing the beautiful Dollanganger family. Corrine and Christopher have four children often referred to as “The Dresden Dolls, named after their blonde hair, blue eyes and doll-like beauty: Chris (14), Cathy (12), and twins Carrie and Cory (5). They are a very loving family and are well-off financially.

There is just something about this book that I thoroughly enjoy. I got completely absorbed in their world. I was hooked by the shocking developments, the taboo subjects, the weird twists and betrayals, and of course the innocent main characters sucked into the morbid world.

Vector set of decorative elements, border and page rules frame

Have you read any of these? What books have made you completely lose track of the time while reading? What books did you read in one sitting or want to read in one sitting? Tell me what books made you want to read the day or night away! Recommend me some books you couldn’t put down! Have you read any on my list and did you feel the same way?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday #2 | Books that will make you read the whole day away

  1. I love that you included Tilt!! I love all of Ellen Hopkins books and they all make you want to read the whole day away! Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

