Top 5 Wednesday: Books to get you out of a Reading Slump

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page! This meme was created by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey.

Todays topic is an interesting one. I was extremely excited about this weeks Top 5 Wednesday topic because I’m looking forward to seeing what other people suggest for getting out of a slump. I actually had a lot of trouble with todays topic. Not because there aren’t books that have gotten me out of a slump but because I just couldn’t remember what they were. I did manage to come up with a list though.

I think every bookworm can agree that book slumps are the worst. Every once in a while, it’s hard to decide what to read or nothing is holding your interest. But here’s five that I can suggest to try out.

bilp

Manga

If every single novel that you pick up suddenly seems like it has 800 pages, put it down and look pictures instead. Graphic novels and manga can deliver the exact same impact as a normal novel, and have some fantastic characters and story lines. If you just can’t get into any novels at the moment, try starting with something light.

bilp

Image resultTilt by Ellen Hopkins

Review

And basically anything by Ellen Hopkins. This was the first book I ever read by Ellen Hopkins. Despite the size, it’s written in verse, so you can read this very quickly. I have been a huge fan of Ellen Hopkins for a while. This one is, by far, my favourite. Even though I have only read this books once, I know that it will definitely be revisited at some point as it is so well-written.

bilp

We Were Liars by E. LockhartImage result for we were liars

Review

The less you know about this book, the better. If you’re looking for a book that is full of mysterious circumstances, then read this. I absolutely loved it, It was a short read so I got through it quickly. If you have to read a book for ages because it’s so long you’re just going to get dragged into the slump even further because you aren’t accomplishing anything. I definitely recommend this as a quick read to leave a book slump.

bilp

Image resultDon’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Review

This book is another mysterious story that has you guessing until the very end. Samantha regains consciousness on the side of the road in a ditch, covered in blood and no memories. She doesn’t even know who she is. After she learns that one of her friends died during the time she was missing, she searches for answers for what really happened to her.

bilp

51hkos5w5il-_sy445_ql70_Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

I’m currently reading Jasper Jones and it’s gotten me so hooked since I started it. Charlie, a bookish teen, and Jasper, marginalised due to his indigenous heritage, are both outcasts that must grow up in a way that some of the adult characters never have. Both are compelled to make life-altering choices amid the deceptive quiet of life in a country town. It’s full of so much mystery and I can’t wait to get further in and finish it!

bilp

Find all of my previous Top 5 Wednesday posts Here.

So, that’s it for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, I hope you enjoyed it! I’ve discovered that I really need to take more notice of the books that pull me out of a slump because I had a lot of trouble this week.

What are some books that got you out of a slump? I’d love to know. Suggestions are always welcome so leave them in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

