TBR Takedown 5.0 Wrap-Up

If you read my TBR Takedown 5.0 | The Pile Post, You’d know I participated in the TBR Takedown 5.0 Read-A-Thon this month. There are 5 Challenges given, and the goal was to complete all five challenges. I managed to read 3 out of the 5 books I set for myself in TBR Takedown and 2 extras. Here are some of my thoughts on the books I read, and I will be doing more full-length reviews for them later on.

My TBR:

TBR Shelf for over a year ~ The Carnivorous  Carnival by Lemony Snicket
Most Recent Book Haul ~ That Summer by Sarah Dessen
First Book in a Series ~ The Golden Wizard by J. S. Jaeger
Catch Up on a Series ~ An Author’s Odyssey by Chris Colfer
Out of your Comfort Zone ~ Calamity Jane: How the West Began by Bryan Ney

What I actually read…

324277TBR Shelf for over a Year – The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snicket  4

I loved the carnival theme this book had going, I was excited that Klaus, Violet, and Sunny dressed up in disguises, the mystery of V.F.D is still unsolved, one of their parents might be alive. This wasn’t the most memorable in the series but I absolutely loved the intensity of the ending! I thought the kids starting to question and doubt themselves and their actions was really interesting too! This was a slightly drearier book in tone than the others, I can feel the ending getting closer and I’m looking forward to finally getting some answers soon.


The Golden Wizard (The Scrolls of Zndaria, #1)First Book in a Series – The Golden Wizard by J. S. Jaeger 3

I enjoyed this book! I started of a bit slow, I thought that it wasn’t interesting.    But this ended up being a fun book to read. It’s easy enough for younger kids to read and understand, but the plot was fun enough that older kids and adults can read and enjoy it too. It’s the first book in seven-book Middle-Grade fantasy series that introduces young readers to five heroes in the magical world of Zndaria. It had a very interesting story line but was a little too fast paced. I would have liked more detail in some places, like with the Halls of Magic.


O61u0oehaxflut of your Comfort Zone – Calamity Jane: How the West Began by Bryan Ney 3

The writing was solid, and once the pacing issues were resolved, the story started to take flight. Intriguing and well-placed moments of history added to the story, as descriptions did make the story feel of its time. Although it would be another 15 years or so before the nickname Calamity became her moniker, her parents were long dead before she moved herself and her siblings to Montana in 1868, and those years were spent working various jobs to maintain her household. Little moments, but things that when using an actual historical figure are easy enough to get right. Ignore the factual errors and you get a clever historic fiction that doesn’t rely on the persona of Calamity Jane, but on the development and story about the young Martha.


These were the extra books that I read:

pandorah4prev  Image result


I’m pretty proud of myself, though I wish I would have been able to stay on top of my TBR a bit more. Did you participate in TBR Takedown? How did you do? What did you read? Leave a comment or link to your own post, so I can check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

