Review: I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson

23573418I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson
Published by: Walker Books
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQIA+
Format: Paperback
Pages: 429
Rating: 4
Date Read: 07/09/2015
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Author’s Website

From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying – all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

I’ll Give You the Sun is my first Jandy Nelson book. The characters are complex and realistic. I loved having perspectives from both Jude and Noah. You could see how problematic they both were. This book follows Noah and Jude through two alternative narratives. The twins write from alternative periods in their lives before and after a traumatic event and how their lives are being shaped and changed.

I’ll Give You the Sun is different than any other book I’ve read. The writing style, the story line, the themes, the characters, they were all excellent. The unique writing style took a little for me to get used to but after reading the book I admire it. I’ll admit the first few pages were a bit rough. the writing is very different from what I’m used to; everything is a metaphor. I had to re-read sentences a few times to decipher if that actually happened, or if it was just some weird metaphor.

“Because who knows? Who knows anything? Who knows who’s pulling the strings? Or what is? Or how? Who knows if destiny is just how you tell yourself the story of your life?…No one knows. So we grapple with mysteries, each in our own way. And some of us get to float around on one of them and call it home.”

Jude was an interesting character whose belief in superstitions made her unique. From the very start I disliked Jude. She was really unlikeable. Noah, was a poetic character to read about. It was creative and unlike anything I had read before.

I liked the romance between Brian and Noah, it was sweet and it didn’t take over the whole story but the romance between Jude and Oscar, I saw no connection there, I saw no soulmate aspect there at all.

“That I’m fucking terrified of you. That I can’t seem to keep you out like I can everyone else. That I think you could devastate me…I’m so dead,” he says into my hair, “so dead,” into my neck, then pulls back, his eyes shining. “You’re going to obliterate me, aren’t you?”

I didn’t love everything about this book. There were a few things that I didn’t love, but overall, I liked it. I don’t think I loved it as much as most people seem to, but it was still a memorable, brilliant and well written story.

“I didn’t know you could get buried in your own silence.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

