Best of 2016

Before we look forward to the new year, I would like to look back on one of the few good things 2016 offered: all the wonderful books I got to read. I loved many books this year, but here are the books that personally touched me the most.

capture

lm_coverLady Midnight  by Cassandra Clare (Review)

This was definitely one of the best YA books of 2016. The story was long, but I never once got bored. This book contains so many different themes, there are lots of love interests, family issues, and friendship themes running throughout. This novel is gripping, action packed and full of mystery, intrigue and adventure. Connecting all the shadowhunter chronicles together in each book in such a clever way is definitely one of Clare’s strongest points and makes her novels and world just that extra bit special.

28954137Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare (Review)

This book follows the adventures of Simon Lewis while he prepares to become a Shadowhunter. I loved these novellas. As a fan of Cassandra Clare’s writing, I found myself really entertained by these novellas. The history was amazing. I loved learning more about the Shadowhunter world.

17675462The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Review)

I really Enjoyed this book. I can definitely say that The Raven Cycle series has the potential of becoming a new favourite of mine.

10397655Between by Jessica Warman (Review)

Between was a beautiful book that crosses genres, giving us the best of contemporary, love and ghost stories in one fast-paced read. This is a mix of social drama, mystery, romance and family issues. It moves between the past and the present as Liz and Alex attempt to put together the jigsaw pieces of the past to understand and move past what happened to them. Liz is a great character, dimensional and real, while still being somewhat repelled by her mean and reckless actions in the past.

y648Petals on the Wind by Virginia Andrews

Petals on The Wind is just as entertaining and disturbing as Flowers in the Attic, and I have loved every single page of it. It’s a guilty-pleasure kind of read, but one that actually stays with you for quite some time after you put it down. Fast-paced and often times completely mind-blowing, even if it’s just a little bit over the top at times. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan

20312458

The cast and the whole plot in general is diverse in terms of race and sexuality. The Persian culture is embedded in the story. I totally adored this diverse story which is about growing up, being different, and choosing the type of person you want to become, even if others would choose differently for you. The characters were all unique, well-developed, and relatable.

20312474If Could You Be Mine by Sara Farizan (Review)

I liked this book a lot. The love interest could be kind of infuriating, and I just never truly believed them as a couple. But to be quite honest, I’m not sure how much we were supposed to. I think the book was trying to be more about the traits of the protagonist than about her relationship, which was a good thing.

The Shock of Survival by Nicole Field (Review)33121067

I enjoyed this book, It’s a quick, easy read. The Shock of Survival is a really short and easy read that gets your attention from the get go. Definitely an interesting read, and I found myself absolutely loving every aspect of it. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the Fantasy or Urban Fantasy genre.

Amanzimtoti: The Ridge by Carmen-Shea Hepburn (Review)

29301891

This was such a wonderful book. The writing is good for a debut. I loved that this book used South African slang in it that readers could learn and explore. Included at the back of the book is a glossary of slang, which I appreciated. So even if you had no knowledge of South African slang, you could still understand what these characters were saying. This, and the descriptions of the landscape, made me truly picture the surroundings and the lives of these teenagers.

capture

Have you read any of the above? Let me know what you think of them! What were your favourite books of 2016? Please link me to your post if you have done one. I hope you all a happy new year!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best of 2016

  1. Wow!! You had an awesome year of reading! Great post!!

    Happy New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

