Diversity in Fiction | Discussion #2

Since the last discussion went so well, I thought I’d do another one. Today I’d like to talk about diversity in books. It’s a topic that’s constantly talked about. And I’m one of those people who does talk about it a lot. These are my own opinions and while you can choose to disagree with it, I hope that you at least respect it. One of the reasons I love reading so much is that I get to read about people unlike myself. I also love reading about characters that I can relate too. It would be boring if every book featured an identical cast of characters.

I try to make it a goal of mine to read books with characters of colour, LGBTQ+ characters, disabled characters, Mental Illness, etc. In the last three years, I have been reading much more, and reading much more diversely. I actively seek out books that feature diverse authors or characters, that are set in areas of the world I’m unfamiliar with, or that feature opinions that are different than my own.

I think the reasons reading diversely has affected me in a positive way  is that I’m exposed to more cultures, religions, sexual orientations, political opinions, ethnicities, and general life experiences. I’m a firm believer that intolerance is a result of ignorance. People fear what they don’t understand. Reading diversely has made me a far more accepting person.

Although I love reading diverse books, I also don’t think any of the above should be in a book just for the sake of it. It needs to fit the story. It doesn’t mean that authors should feel obligated  to write diversely.

That’s all for today! These are just a few thoughts about diversity in books. We should all be able to see ourselves in books and be able to relate to it.

Why do you think we need diversity and representation in YA? What are some of your favourite diverse books? What do you think of the Lack of Diversity in books? Do you think we need more diversity in books? What are your thoughts/opinions on diversity? What are the reasons that you’d like to see diverse books? Please comment below, I’d love to hear your opinions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

