Top 5 Wednesday: Series that got worse with each book/season

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature and you can find the goodreads group here This meme was created by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey.

The topic this week is open to TV shows as well. You can choose any book series or TV show that you thought started out strong but then got increasingly worse with each book/season. Please do not be offended by any of my choices, this is just my personal opinion.

bilp

Dollanganger (Book Series)

dollanganger-series-all

there are four in total and a prequel, I read the first two. I started reading the third book If There be thorns, the characters were annoying and the plot was awful. This series had a really strong start but gradually got worse with each book. I had to DNF the series.

bilp

The Vampire Diaries (T.V. Show)

the-vampire-diaries-the-complete-first-season-dvd-cover-20  the-vampire-diaries-season-2-dvd_558x754  the_vampire_diaries_season_3the-vampire-diaries-serie-de-tv-temporada-4-en-dvd-d_nq_np_5306-mlu4959162499_092013-f  the-vampire-diaries-season-5-dvd-cover-29

I loved the first three seasons. It’s addicting. You just can’t stop watching. But I think this show’s been dragged on for too long.

bilp

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (Book Series)

seriesheader

 There are thirteen in total and I’ve read eight of them. The storyline is really repetitive and I find myself getting bored while reading these. It has its moments, but overall, I feel like it’s the same thing over and over again.

bilp

Gossip Girl (T.V. Show)

s1poster2   s2dvd   gossipgirls3 s4dvd   gossip_girl_season_5_dvd  188556

This show was six seasons long and I got through about four before I quit watching. I really liked it up until then. Although I did watch the season finale to find out how it ends.

bilp

Glee (T.V. Show)

gleefirstseason  glee_season_2_dvd_cover  glee_season_3glee_season_4_dvd   glee_season_6_dvd_cover   glee_season_five_dvd_cover

It got repetitive and the new cast felt like a repeat of the original storyline, the writers recycled plots.

bilp

So that’s it for this post! Have you read/seen any of these books/series? What are your thoughts? Please let me know in the comments, I would love to hear your opinions. I would love to read your Top 5 Wednesday post so please leave a link to it in the comments.

This entry was posted in Book Memes, Bookish Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 5 Wednesday: Series that got worse with each book/season

  1. Think Vampire Diaries has been popping up on most of the lists this week and I totally agree. The books were the same, as soon as they brought in a shadow writer they went all wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. acedimski says:

    I agree on The Vampire Diaries, after a certain season (I think it was three), I just felt they were looking for new villains, new story lines… the whole Elena loves who drama started bothering me… the only character which kept me watching this show was Katherine.. those who know what happened, can imagine after which episode I quit the show. It’s sad, because it was the fandom who brought me to twitter and tumblr, but I’m glad that I don’t watch it anymore…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

