Top 5 Wednesday: Books you want to finally read in 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature and you can find the goodreads group here This meme was created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey. This week’s theme got me to think about the five that I wanted to read the most that have been neglected for one reason or another.

This is my first ever Top 5 Wednesday! So here are the 5 books/Series I really want to read, these are the books that I am finally making up my mind about and reading in 2017. In no particular order, these are the books I would love to finally read.

bilp

12813630“Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.”

I have been wanting to read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown since 2014. I tried to read this a few months ago but only got a chapter in before I had to return it to the library. I keep meaning to read this but kept pushing it back. Hopefully 2017 is the year I read this.

bilp

5802013

After eighteen years as a political prisoner in the Bastille, the ageing Doctor Manette is finally released and reunited with his daughter in England. There the lives of two very different men, Charles Darnay, an exiled French aristocrat, and Sydney Carton, a disreputable but brilliant English lawyer, become enmeshed through their love for Lucie Manette.”

This book has been sitting there on the shelf for the past two years. This has been on my TBR for a while, since I read The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, which has a lot of references from this book.

bilp

25318713“Living on her family’s idyllic lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, inquisitive, innocent, and precociously talented sixteen-year-old who loves to write stories. But the mysteries she pens are no match for the one her family is about to endure…”

This book has been sitting on my shelf since I won it in a Giveaway in 2015. I’ve been meaning to read this, unfortunately I’ve never gotten around the reading this. Hopefully 2017 will be the year I pick this up.

bilp

“A Series of Unfortunate Events is a series of 13 children’s novels by Lemony Snicket, which follows the turbulent lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire after their parents’ death in a fire.”

bilp

So The Harry Potter Series has been staring at me from my shelf for months, I know so many people love this series. I read the first three books earlier this year, and just haven’t picked up the rest of the series yet, I really want to read them. It is one of those books that has been waiting on my TBR pile for some time now. 2017 is the year and I am going to sit and marathon the rest of the series.  Sometimes I feel like there watching me from the shelf, ordering me to finally pick them up and read them.
bilp

So that’s it for this post! Have you read any of these books? What are your thoughts? What are you planning on reading in 2017? Are you planning on reading any of these? What books do you have sitting on your shelves that you want to read in 2017? I would love to know what books are at the top of your TBRs for next year, those books that have been waiting and you’re finally going to read in 2017. Please let me know in the comments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Wednesday: Books you want to finally read in 2017

  1. acedimski says:

    Oh god, I totally agree with you about Harry Potter! I’ve finally picked up the first book! They were staring at me since I bought them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

