Review: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

15746527Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
Published by: Walker Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Steampunk
Format: Paperback
Pages: 568
Rating: 5
Date Read: 08/06/2014

If the only way to save the world was to destroy what you loved most, would you do it?

The clock is ticking. Everyone must choose.

Passion. Power. Secrets. Enchantment.

Danger closes in around the Shadowhunters in the final installment of the bestselling Infernal Devices trilogy.

Clockwork Princess is the last book in The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. This novel follows strong, witty, brave, and loveable characters. In my opinion, Cassandra is very good at making her characters seem real. I loved the conversation between the characters and how they planned to fix the big problem at hand.

Comparing Cassandra’s other series; The Mortal Instruments to this trilogy, I feel as though the plot was more planned out and less rushed than the plot in The Mortal Instruments. In the end, Cassandra Clare did not fail to impress me I highly recommend this trilogy and The Mortal Instruments to anyone who loves, adventure, action, and romance.

This book picks up about 2 months after the ending of Clockwork Prince. Charlotte and the rest of the shadowhunters of the London institute are desperate to find Mortmain before he can carry out his plans for the destruction of the shadowhunters, but before he can, he still needs something, Tessa. She is the key to the destruction of the Nephilim.

“‘Oh, you are to be more than his bride, Miss Gray. You are to be the ruin of the Nephilim. That is why you were created. And the more knowledge of them you have, the more your sympathies lie with them, the more effective a weapon you will be to raze them to the ground.’

After an attack on the institute, Tessa is taken by Mrs. Black, one of her former kidnappers from Clockwork Angel. Mortmain has seized the medicine that keeps Jem alive, buying up all the yin fen and blocking any further shipments of coming in. With Jem on death’s door, it’s up to Will to rescue Tessa and bring home the girl that they both love.

The characters were absolutely amazing and so realistic. I cared about all of them. All of them were unique and had their own story that made them who they were. After risking so much, I was so glad that most of them got their happy endings.

So many questions were answered in this book and I finally saw the connection between the characters in this series and those in The Mortal Instruments.

Will & Tessa & Jem. The most beautiful, heart-breaking, gut-wrenching and superb love triangle ever made in young adult literature. They’re the essence of the story. I wanted everyone to get their ‘happily ever after’ because I became so emotionally attached to them. Tessa was such a strong character and I ended up admiring her. Even though Tessa can’t fight like the Shadowhunters she’s still powerful in her own way. I loved how she was so determined and willing to give anything to protect the people that she loves.

Tessa is one of my favourite Female characters. She is strong, determined and caring. She has developed so much and she has proved herself to be a faithful person. Also at her age she handles greatly the affections with pride and loyalty.

“You know that feeling,” she said, “when you are reading a book, and you know that it is going to be a tragedy; you can feel the cold and darkness coming, see the net drawing tight around the characters who live and breathe on the pages. But you are tied to the story as if being dragged behind a carriage and you cannot let go or turn the course aside.”

Jem. sweet, gentle, caring Jem. He was really sweet and cute and always kind towards others.

“Jem touched the parabatai rune on his shoulder, through the thin material of his nightshirt. “I am not alone,” he said. “Wherever we are, we are as one.”

Will. Drop-dead gorgeous, beautiful, hilarious and dedicated. He’s impulsive, but passionate. Driven. Loving. Stubborn. Will has a lot of great qualities but what I liked about him was that he doesn’t play the perfect innocent person.

“If Jem dies, I cannot be with Tessa,” said Will. “Because it will be as if I were waiting for him to die, or took some joy in his death, if it let me have her. And I will not be that person. I will not profit from his death. So he must live.”

Cecily. She is Will’s female version. And since I love Will with all my heart, I couldn’t help loving Cecily too. From her witty replies, to her brave personality. From her curiosity, to her great knowledge. From her beauty and lady-like manners, to her passion about Shadowhunters. And her relationship with Will was adorable.

Gideon and Gabriel Lightwood.  There was a big character development, especially on Gabriel’s part. I admit I wanted to choke him several times, but in the end all was forgiven. And Sophie. I adored her loyalty to Charlotte, her fiery personality and her dedication.

The plot was amazingly well done. Action, twists and turns. Revelations. Battles. Politics. It had a bit of everything.

“It’s all heartbreak, death and unrequited love.”

The pace was perfect. It has POVs from several characters which gave wonderful insight on the characters’ way of thinking, judging and experiencing powerful emotions. Plus, the classic literature references, The Infernal Devices being a loose retelling of A Tale of Two Cities, were incredibly done.

The love triangle in this book is how a love triangle should be written. I actually liked both guys in the love triangle. All three have such a strong bond that could never be broken. The relationships between all the characters was also another part of the book that I love.

Once again, Cassandra Clare has left me breathless and speechless. I cannot even begin to possibly explain in a comprehensive way the enormity of this book’s power to enchant and bewitch willing readers. It really is beautiful and amazing how captivating it is, you will be pulled into a world of everlasting desire to jump into the very pages, right into Tessa’s ancient London and train as a shadowhunter; to live and to breathe alongside some of the very best characters to emerge from today’s published works.

Clockwork Princess was a much darker read than the other two books in the series. The ending was actually very satisfying even though I was crying so much I couldn’t even read the page. I totally called who Brother Zachariah was but I never would have guessed the twist at the very end of the book.

The writing style is perfect. This series is written in third person, but I couldn’t help but admire the writing. The greatness lies in the way author has collided the quotes of classics with the chapters, the time the book is written with the way they speak, the manners and habits with the characters’ personality.

Clockwork Princess is a beautiful, yet thrilling sequel with everything in it. The characters are fully developed and it reflects the plot and the lives, intentions, desires and dreams of the characters.

Clockwork Princess was without a doubt, the best in the series. The conclusion of this book will break your heart. There has never been a more crushing love triangle. I can’t even tell you who I was cheering for. The characters have dimension, the story isn’t predictable and the writing and dialog are actually funny and makes sense.

The Infernal Devices certainly became one of my favorite series of All Time. I binge read all three books and I have absolutely no regrets.

The greatest thing about this series was not the action, or the romance, but the bond between Jem and Will. Their parabatai bond and friendship was just so touching with every page turned. Though it is true when people say that the love triangle in this series is like no other, I fiercely believe that Jem and Will’s bond overpowers that of the romance in The Infernal Devices.

‘I cannot leave you to face death alone,’ Will whispered, but he knew he was beaten.

For me, the friendship between Jem and Will was the very best part. It was beautiful and heartbreaking at times, but without a doubt the best depiction of a friendship that I have read about. There was never any jealousy toward the other, no ill will, though in the end they both knew how the other felt about Tessa

I recommend this series to anyone who loves the paranormal and wants a really twisted story to read that is still appropriate for young adults. I am even more excited about The Last Hours series which is the sequel series to the Infernal Devices, focusing on the next generation of Shadowhunters. It has been one of my most anticipated books for a long time now. We will see more of these characters that I love and their children.

“The Infernal Devices are without Pity. The Infernal Devices are without regret. The Infernal Devices are without number. The Infernal Devices will never stop coming.”

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

