Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Displaying myImage.png

18137193City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
Published by: Walker Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Pages: 733
Rating: 5
Date Read: 31/05/2014

Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last instalment of the internationally bestselling The Mortal Instruments series.

Erchomai, Sebastian had said. I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in this world can defeat him – must they journey to another world to find the chance?

The book continues as Sebastian takes revenge on the Shadowhunters by turning them into Endarkened and having brother fight against brother. With the fear of becoming one of the Endarkened, the Clave summons all Shadowhunters to Idris, leaving the world unprotected from demons. As Sebastian’s army rises, the Shadowhunters have to decide whether they need to protect themselves, or fight.

There was so much that went on in this book. Sebastian is back again doing his worst. He has the cup and is putting Shadowhunters against each other. Clary is in the middle of trying to make sure Jace can see that no matter what happened before that it wasn’t his fault the way things turned out, and then dealing with a brother who she didn’t know about.

I loved this book and the whole series, its brilliantly written and the characters are so special to me. This series has led me down the most incredible journey. I’ve faced evil, witnessed loyalty and friendship, bawled my eyes out on multiple occasions, and truly fell in love with these characters. Clary, Simon, Jace, Izzy, Magnus, and Alec are not just literary characters to me, they were so well written and well rounded that I cannot help to think of them as anything but people I have once known.

I’ve said it many times before and I’ll say it again. I love these characters. This book was everything. Not only do we see the characters grow and develop in surprising and wonderful ways, but we also see and meet characters from other series in the Shadowhunters world.

I loved the characters and how everything played out. Of course, some parts were sad, but I loved the book overall. I loved all of the new characters and it was great to see some of the old characters from both series. I thought this was written very well, and went into detail about everything.

Clary has never been one of my favourite heroines. Like Cassandra Clare’s writing, Clary also grew as a character in my opinion. I saw her vulnerability in this book. I saw how terrible it was for her when the people she loved were in danger; it was her weakness and Sebastian knew how to manipulate that weakness. Also, her reaction to Sebastian towards the end of the book felt so genuine, there was a slight sense of remorse that things ended the way they did.

It had been so long since I read City of Lost Souls that I forgot how much I loved Jace. There was so much character development for Jace in this book. After being with Sebastian for almost the entire time in the last book, he really learned to accept why he could understand how Sebastian’s mind works. Also, he finally got into terms with the things that he was trying so hard to avoid from the last books.

I’ve never been much of a Simon fan. At first, I didn’t like him that much. Simon was a whirlpool for me at the beginning I thought he was just there but as the book progressed I started loving him. I do not like love triangles, square, hexagon, decagon. I’m not a fan of romance that does not involve just two people, but of course, there would be certain cases where it does work, like with The Infernal Devices trilogy. But, I grew to love Simon in this book. He wasn’t afraid to take risks this time, unlike before. The way Cassandra Clare ended his story was pretty cool. I would not have expected it at all.

I also liked Isabelle in this book. I adored her since the third book; City of Glass. At the beginning I though she was cool but her personality bothered me. Her relationship with Simon was really great and seeing her vulnerable personality made me adore her. She finally came to terms with how she really feel about this certain someone, who you all probably know who. Like Clary, she has fierce love for the people she cares for and would do anything to prevent bad things from happening to them.

Magnus and Alec were always my favourites in this series – I enjoyed their scenes in this book together, I just love both of them. I thought their relationship with each other flourished in this book. There were so many things that were tied up between them here and it’s just so good to see.

Sebastian was a villain that I feel very attached to. Don’t get me wrong, he was an evil, but I understood why he was the way he is – that is an indication of a well-written villain, if you are able to understand why they are doing the things that they are doing. I felt so bad for him towards the end of the book, because in every way, he was also robbed of the freedom to be happy. There was never a chance for him to be anything than what his father intended him to be.

I loved how evenly the romance is spread out. In the first three books of this series the romance was very concentrated on Jace and Clary,  but the romance in this book is spread around quite a lot. There is also some Magnus and Alec romance, though not quite as much as one might hope, but it’s there. Honestly, all of the romances in this series are written well and extremely compelling.

There is a lot of world-building in this book. With this being the last in a six book series I wasn’t expecting all that much world-building, but It also serves as a lead in to The Dark Artifices. One of my favourite parts of this book was how Cassandra Clare had brought all her series together. She had characters from The Infernal Device series and from The Dark Artifices series.

The fascinating world of shadowhunters and downworlders has always intrigued me with it’s rich world-building. The characters, so real and relatable, including those few twisted ones, have all contributed to making this one of my favorite book series of all time.

Cassandra Clare never ceases to amaze me with her skilled writing. I love the deep complex characters, the twisting plots, the humor, the action, the deception, the drama, the wit, and crazy parallels and connections to The Infernal Devices. Her writing is consistent. The third person POV with switches between characters works really well, and it’s really descriptive.

Such a wonderful way to bring a book series to an end. All of them being together. Because they are a part of each other and we, the readers, have grown to feel like they are a part of us.

I couldn’t be more pleased with the way things ended. Couldn’t be more pleased with how things played out in this book. I can’t help but feel grateful to Cassandra Clare for giving us the chance to read such amazing books, such amazing stories and adventures. Clare’s plot pacing and her attention to detail are both brilliant. Every detail she includes in her world-building, every action a character takes, and every scene that includes dialogue contributes to the overall conclusion of the story.

The Mortal Instruments was one of the first YA series that I picked up that really got me into reading. These books has influenced my life so much. The characters were one of this book’s greatest strengths. I loved how all of them developed and matured throughout the series. The development of the plot wasn’t forced. It felt natural. The flow of the story was very similar to the earlier books, so despite it being a bit predictable, you still love it because its so well done.

The romance was also another thing that I loved. I usually don’t like romance that much in books, but in this series, It works. The introduction of Emma and Julian was done so well. Also Sebastian was such an amazing villain. You get his motivations and his actions, because Clare showed you who he is, and why he was doing the things he is doing. A villain who is just evil, because he wants to be evil, would never be an effective villain

I would suggest to Read The Infernal Devices series before you read this book. It will make a lot more sense if you read that series first.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

