Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

6752378City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
Published by: Walker Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Pages: 424
Rating: 5
Date Read: 13/09/2013

Clary is back in New York and life is good: she’s training to be a Shadowhunter and is finally able to call Jace her boyfriend. But nothing comes without a price. When Jace inexplicably begins to pull away from her, Clary is forced to acknowledge that she herself has set in motion a chain of events that could lead to the loss of everything she loves. Even Jace.

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. The stakes are higher than ever.

City of Fallen Angels is a fabulous edition to The Mortal Instruments series. It’s an exciting, enticing read that will suck you right back into her dark, twisted, dangerous shadowhunter world.

So, a lot of this novel was very Simon-based, especially during the beginning and I absolutely loved that Simon is a really funny and interesting character to follow, and the incorporation of Jordan into the story was so fantastic, especially to see the dynamic between those two. I found Jordan to be a great addition to the story.

Jace was also more interesting in this fourth instalment, he was so complex and I just loved to read about him. I previously hadn’t loved him as much as I perhaps wanted to. Even Clary didn’t annoy me quite as much as she usually does. Izzy was a delight to read about once again, and I’m so glad she was featured in this book a lot more than the previous one.

I loved every moment of this book, and didn’t find myself bored at any point throughout it. It was so action packed, and even when it wasn’t enough was happening to hold my interest the entire time. The whole Lilith plot was so intriguing and fast-paced, and I absolutely loved it. I also loved seeing the Magnus/Alec dynamic, and the partnership of Alec and Isabelle towards the end.

There is something about Cassie’s writing that lures me into each of her books and leaves me wanting more. I can’t get enough of her fascinating, intriguing world building and her addicting characters. City of Fallen Angels is full of pleasant and shocking twists and turns. I’ve not read a series that has a such a large cast of characters were each one adds something unique to the story and each one is a character I’ve come to enjoy and care about.

I really can’t get enough of her characters and her stories. She adds just the right amount of romance, action, anguish, humour, character growth and plot twists that keep me completely engaged with her book. Her words come alive and make me feel like I’m here, apart of her world.

 

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

  1. Hiba Ashfaq says:

    I loved this book too! It’s my second favourite book of series. The most favourite is City of Heavenly Fire. It’s the last book of the series. Have you read it yet?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

