Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

23734628Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Published by:
 St. Martin’s Griffin
Genres: Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 522
Rating: 3
Date Read: 10/10/2015

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

To be honest, I was intrigued by Simon and Baz when I read Fangirl a while ago. When I saw that Rowell was going to write a fantasy novel about Simon and Baz, I was excited. I had high expectations, but I’m kind of disappointed by this book. I liked it, but there were a few things that I didn’t enjoyed that much, but there were others that I really liked.

I enjoy books with magic, and of course I enjoyed that part in this book. I liked the Humdrum. When these kids figure out the truth about the Humdrum I was impressed. I think it was good how The Humdrum was created, why he looks like Simon and how he keeps getting more powerful. I liked the Humdrum and all about it. However, I think the plot was kind of flat.

Simon was likable enough, but pretty boring for the main character. Baz was way more interesting. He’s sarcastic and snarky but also he has a soft spot for Simon, and that’s so cute. Penny is awesome. I disliked Agatha. She was a completely useless character, and beyond was quite annoying. She’s only there to create angst and drama, and has little personality beyond that.

Overall, this was a good book, but for me it didn’t lived up the hype that surrounds it. I do enjoy Rowell’s writing; it is easy to read and easy to follow. It keeps you intrigued all the time. I’ve read two books by her before, and I really enjoyed them. I would recommend Carry On to those searching for a light, fun, and cute read.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

