Review: Luna by Julie Anne Peters

316445Luna by Julie Anne Peters
Published by:
 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQI+
Format: Paperback
Pages: 248
Rating: 3
Date Read: 19/09/2016

Regan’s brother Liam can’t stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female namesake, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night. In the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister’s clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change-Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam’s family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen’s struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

Firstly, I thought this book was interesting and it kept my attention throughout. This book is really simple in terms of language, story and writing style and that simplicity had its pros and cons. The writing style was so simple that it was really easy to understand and I think that is good because younger readers can grasp everything very easily, and it was a quick book to read. But sometimes the simplicity took away from deep emotional insights from Luna. I got the emotion behind why she wanted to transition but I feel like I needed more emotion and more heartbreak.

I liked the fact that it was from Regan’s POV. I didn’t particularly like Regan that much. She seemed really selfish to me but her insight gave us a view into that of a person with a transgendered sibling.

I did really like this book. There were a few things that could have been better but it was good. I liked the subject matter of this novel because I haven’t really read anything else like it. I wasn’t totally sold on the story because of the cardboard quality of some of the characters and events. This being said, I loved Liam’s character.

I think Luna is an important book, and while I felt like it was a little flat, it is one that many teen and young adult readers could benefit from and enjoy reading. I would recommend this book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

