Review: Alaska by Sue Saliba

Displaying myImage.png

11102173.jpgAlaska by Sue Saliba
Published by: Penguin
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Paperback
Pages: 185
Rating: 1
Date Read: 28/02/2015

Mia’s heart made a sound that no one heard except for Mia late one night when she woke from dreams into darkness.

Ethan was asleep beside her, and Em was a forest away. Outside it was night and dark and Alaska. The sky was upside down.

When Mia follows her sister halfway across the world to Alaska, she discovers that love can be found in the most unexpected and beautiful of places. But can Mia find the courage to follow her heart in Alaska? And what if the one you love is not all that you wish them to be?

I don’t know what Alaska was meant to achieve but I certainly didn’t get anything out of it. I guess it was meant to be lyrical and poetic – yet it was so aloof and abstract I cannot even tell you what this book was truly meant to be about.

I honestly believe that this is one of the very worst books I’ve ever read. This book contains no capital letters. I almost closed the book again right there when I discovered this, but eventually decided to give it a go after all, mostly because of my attraction to the cover.

There was a poetry about it, yet I can’t say I particularly enjoyed reading it. Usually dreamy, introspective characters appeal to me, yet I could not connect with Mia, and didn’t much care for any of the other characters.

I eventually got used to the style and the lack of capitalisation, but it wasn’t a style I would ever seek out, and I doubt I’d have read a whole book written this way if it weren’t for it being quite a short book.

In addition, I felt no interest in the main character, and guessed the ending from practically the beginning of the book. The trouble with the lyrical way of writing is that much of the universe and the characters are still sketches by the end, so I couldn’t care about any of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

