Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

18217505The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Published by: HarperCollins
Genres: Classics, Fantasy, Adventure
Format: Paperback
Pages: 351
Rating: 2
Date Read: 20/10/2016

The classic bestseller behind this year’s biggest movie, this film tie-in edition features the complete story of Bilbo Baggins’ adventures in Middle-earth as shown in the film trilogy, with a striking cover image from Peter Jackson’s film adaptation and drawings and maps by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End.

But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an unexpected journey ‘there and back again’. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon…

The prelude to The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit has sold many millions of copies since its publication in 1937, establishing itself as one of the most beloved and influential books of the twentieth century.

It took me ages to finish The Hobbit. Mostly because Tolkien has to describe every inch of wall, path, stream, tree, and whatever else the dwarves and Bilbo came across. I found it incredibly boring and slow. I would have enjoyed this so much more if there was more dialogue, more character development and of course a much faster moving plot.

Tolkien is an imaginative writer, with clever prose and an ability to create striking landscapes and characters. The amount of time he takes in describing such elements, however, is where he lost me. The Hobbit is a fun, nuanced story about a journey through Middle-Earth to reclaim long-lost treasure. But the writing was so tedious and long-winded.

This book was really boring. I don’t need every tree in the forest described to me. I still think people should read this book and any other Tolkien to decide for themselves if he is for them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. I’m sorry but the first paragraph of your review had me cracking up 😂 Just the way you said he had to describe every inch of the wall, etc. Lol! I haven’t read The Hobbit yet but it’s been on my TBR forever. Literally. I tried to start it not too long ago, but I read the first few paragraphs and stopped. It wasn’t interesting to me at the time but I’m hoping when I try it again, things will be different. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard Tolkien critiqued a lot for being overly descriptive. I’ve never minded, but probably just because I’m a super-fast reader and tend to gloss over paragraphs (even when I don’t mean to). I do tend to skip the song lyrics in both series though–just couldn’t get into those.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

