Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

17322949Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Published by: Orion
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Pages: 325
Rating: 4
Date Read: 09/08/2014

Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn’t stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black T-shirts, headphones, head in a book – he thinks he’s made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor… never to Eleanor.
Slowly, steadily, through late-night conversations and an ever-growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you’re young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

I had high expectations for this book, like most people who have heard about Eleanor and Park. I’ll be honest, I was expecting to fall in love with it, but I didn’t. That being said, I still really enjoyed this book, just not as much as I thought I would.

Firstly, I love how Rainbow Rowell creates these imperfect and realistic characters, it makes her stories so much more interesting and real. Eleanor had a pretty crappy life, and I think that was the most heartbreaking part of the story. Whenever she was at home, or getting picked on because of her size or the colour of her hair, I felt like I was reading somebody’s journal, it just felt so real.

We all know how tough high school can be, and Rainbow Rowell portrayed it pretty perfectly. I found Park to be adorable, and their whole relationship was really cute and fun. But I knew coming into this book that something bad would happen, that something happens at the end. I was expecting a bigger twist, I must say, and kind of saw it coming.

Eleanor & Park is about teenage beginnings and ends, falling in love and what love looks like, what Divorce, multi cultural relationships and abusive relationships look like and how they can affect those around them, how overcoming those awkward teenage days can be hard but rewarding.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Rosie Adams says:

    I have been thinking about reading this. Good review!
    I would love it if you checked out my YA book blog:
    https://readsandroses.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

