Review: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

17061Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Published by: Willow Morrow Paperbacks
Genres: Fantasy, Children, Horror
Format: Paperback
Pages: 162
Rating: 2
Date Read: 05/10/2016

Coraline’s often wondered what’s behind the locked door in the drawing room. It reveals only a brick wall when she finally opens it, but when she tries again later, a passageway mysteriously appears. Coraline is surprised to find a flat decorated exactly like her own, but strangely different. And when she finds her “other” parents in this alternate world, they are much more interesting despite their creepy black button eyes. When they make it clear, however, that they want to make her theirs forever, Coraline begins a nightmarish game to rescue her real parents and three children imprisoned in a mirror. With only a bored-through stone and an aloof cat to help, Coraline confronts this harrowing task of escaping these monstrous creatures.

I didn’t like this book. Just like Coraline, I was bored. Though I didn’t have a magic door to walk through for some excitement. I think it’s one of those rare cases where the movie is actually better than the book. I saw the film first, and when I read the book, I noticed that some things I simply adored about the movie were missing from the book.

I really disliked Coraline’s parents. They were so caught up in their own little worlds that they completely ignored Coraline. Coraline’s very young and basically runs around without parental supervision.

Coraline was a bit too one-dimensional for me. I did like how she was smart and brave though. I wasn’t impressed by this book at all, it certainly underwhelmed me.

I didn’t like the writing much at all. It’s very flat and kind of drones on. Coraline and her choices were hard for me to relate to. She didn’t seem to have much personality besides saying things like “I’m bored.” There’s no character development and the plot is really simple. So many things happened that didn’t serve any purpose except making the story longer, and since I wasn’t invested in the story, it was just frustrating.

Overall, I feel that if I had read Coraline when I was a younger I would have enjoyed it much more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

