Top 5 Least Favourite Books of 2016

Top 5 Least Favourite Books of 2016

Seeing as were Nearing the end of 2016, I thought I’d break down my Favourite books so far. I don’t read Adult books, so this list mainly contains YA books. I’ve read a lot of books, although there aren’t many that I actually disliked. I’ve managed to make up a list of 5 books. So here are my 5 Least Favourite books of 2016 so far. I also Posted my Top 5 Favourite books, you can check that out Here. You can also check out my Rating System as well.


170615. Coraline by Neil Gaiman     2

I didn’t like this book. Just like Coraline, I was bored. Though I didn’t have a magic door to walk through for some excitement. I think it’s one of those rare cases where the movie is actually better than the book. Coraline was a bit too one-dimensional for me. I did like how she was smart and brave though. I wasn’t impressed by this book at all, it certainly underwhelmed me. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone.


4. Past Midnight by Mara Purnhagen     2main-qimg-964a5ccf3b4f55ebf4753a531e7c0c45-c

There wasn’t really anything to hate on in this book. The concept was interesting and the characters were nice enough, if a bit bland. Even the cheerleaders were nice. But the downside of this is that the conflicts get resolved too easily. The supposed “main” plot with the ghosts isn’t developed enough and ends up feeling like a side note to Charlotte being an ordinary girl wanting to fit in and have a more normal life. I sympathized with her, but it wasn’t very exciting. The story lacks an abundance of detail and I felt like the author made a few random leaps to get to her conclusion.


22188

3. Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegesar     2

The author clearly knows nothing about 16 year olds aside from what she’s seen in horrible television shows. The characters are all 2 dimensional and predictable – all super hot, super trendy, super rich, super popular and few if any have any redeeming qualities. How can I love the show so much, but think the books are horribly written and duller than dishwasher?


 2. The kill order by James Dashner    1

I absolutely hated this book. It predates what happened 914ge2yhqolbefore Thomas and the Maze. It was hard to fall into and it simply didn’t meet the expectations set by the other books in the series. So disappointing. I liked the prologue and the epilogue, I felt the rest of the book was completely pointless except for the character Deedee and the explanation of the origins of The Flare. Which a whole book was not needed for those things. It was a ton of action which got really boring, and I just don’t see the point of the story. It was fairly entertaining at times, but compared to the rest of the series it was pretty crappy.


 1. 22736613Hold me Closer by david levithan    1

Not really that good. way to over the top, the songs were lame and tiny was just annoying. this was just inexcusably bad. nearly all the characters in this novel seemed flat, and the songs were repetitive and dull. The ending was stupid. All of this was stupid, and Unnecesary. Most of this book I skimmed through.


What were your least favorite books of 2016? Which books didn’t meet your expectations?

This entry was posted in favourites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

